News & Topics


Nagasaki University 2024 AFIMA Leaders Program 2024 Opening Ceremony


The 2024 AFIMA Leaders Program Opening Ceremony was held on Friday, April 5, 2024. A total of 10 international students will participate in the program, five from Pukyong National University (PKNU) and five from Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT). Four students from Nagasaki University also joined to support the international students. They will study together for about three months, from April to June.



At the opening ceremony, Professor.Kazuaki Kawamoto, Dean of the Graduate School, gave a speech, wishing the students to challenge themselves in various things and enjoy their life in Nagasaki. Then, the international students participating in this program introduced themselves.




Professor.Hideki Nakayama, Vice-dean of the Graduate School, explained the program and the precautions to be taken in life in Nagasaki.






Pukyong National University(PKNU)


● Seunga JEONG (Pukyong National University)



● Chaerhyeon KIM (Pukyong National University)



● Dasom CHOI (Pukyong National University)



● Sumin HWANG (Pukyong National University)



● Hyeonbeom LIM (Pukyong National University)




Universiti Malaysia Terengganu(UMT)


● Siti Hajjar MUSTAPA  (Universiti Malaysia Terengganu)



● Sharifah Nur Batrisya SYED AZMUDDIN  (Universiti Malaysia Terengganu)



● Estefania Lourdres SIMA  (Universiti Malaysia Terengganu)



● Siti Zuqrina ABDUL HAKAM  (Universiti Malaysia Terengganu)



● Hazril Shauqi AHMAD SABRI  (Universiti Malaysia Terengganu)




【Supporting students】

Four students from Nagasaki University participated. Yuri Yamamoto, Yukino Baba, Sohei Shibasaki, Yuko Kameyama, and Akiko Iwayama, who have experience studying abroad for a short term, will also join as supporters and study together.


Yuri Yamamoto



Yukino Baba



Sohei Shibasaki



Yuko Kameyama



Akiko Iwayama




We will support them.


● Professor.Kazuaki Kawamoto, Dean



● Professor.Hideki Nakayama, Vice-dean



● Professor.Yoshiki Matsushita, Vice-dean



● Professor.Masaki Nagae



● associate professor.Hee-Jin KIM



● assistant professor.Mitduhide Sato




After the opening ceremony, student supporters guided the students around the campus, explaining the main active locations such as lecture halls, laboratories, and the library.


Over the next three months, new exchanges and learning will begin.